Meeting with the Mayor of Marion

One of the first things I wanted to do when arriving to Marion to pastor Central was to meet with some of the public officials to learn more about the area and to see how Central can most effectively impact the community of Marion.

So I called the mayor.  I thought he might be gracious enough to give me a spot on his calendar to sit down and talk.

And he did.

He called me back this morning and asked if I could meet with him this Friday at 1:30.  So I’ll be meeting with Mayor Scott Schertzer to start making connections in the community.

Mayor Scott Schertzer speaks to a crowd in Marion at Bill Clinton's 2/29/08 visit to Marion.

Mayor Scott Schertzer speaks to a crowd in Marion at Bill Clinton's 2/29/08 visit to Marion.

So give me your input in the comments section here- as a new pastor to a new city, what should I ask our mayor?

Posted on August 25, 2009, in Connect and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I think you should ask the mayor if his Transit Administrator could have a raise…ok maybe not.

  2. Katelynn Glenn

    That is so cool that you get to meet the mayor! That is an awesome opportunity. I’ll be praying for you on Friday. I’d ask him of a list of major community events. That way you could possibly participate or if you are planning something else, it wouldn’t conflict. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

